The new visa code has been introduced under which Schengen visa fee will be increased from 60 to 80 Euros, from February 2, 2020.

VFS Global, which manages visa and passport issuance-related administrative tasks for Schengen countries, notified, “As of February 2, 2020, the Schengen visa fee per person (short-stay visa) will increase from 60 to 80 Euros or the equivalent amount in your local currency (Dh 328). For children between 6-12 years old, the visa fee will increase to 40 Euros or equivalent (Dh 164).”

According to the reports, there will be no fee for children under the age of six as no change has been made in this category.

The Schengen visa is the most common visa for European countries. It’s a short-stay visa under which a person may travel to any country of the Schengen in Europe for up to 3 months for tourism or business purposes. The purpose of the new visa system, which was approved back in 2018, is to “ensure a better balance between migration and security concerns, economic considerations and general external relations.”

The 26 Schengen countries include Austria, Belgium, Estonia, Spain, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Slovakia, Slovenia, Sweden, and Switzerland.

You can fill our free assessment form to check your eligibility for admission, scholarship, study, visit or immigration visa.

Read More: UK announces Global Talent Visa for researchers