Hungary has introduced new rules for international travellers due to COVID-19


In order to prevent the new outbreak of the COVID-19 (Coronavirus pandemic) Gergely Gulyás, the Minister of the Hungary Prime Minister’s Office has announced that the government of Hungary has introduced new rules for international travellers due to COVID-19 and constricted its border controls, from 15 July 2020.

Gulyás has emphasized that Hungary must stop the virus from being exotic from abroad, and explain that there will not be any further restrictive rules within the state. 

He also emphasized, today, Hungary is one of the safest countries in Europe. However, adding new outbreaks across the world, the government of Hungary is putting the safety and health of Hungarians first and trying all the possible ways to prevent the virus’s return.

The government of Hungary has been advised to categorize countries into “red”, “yellow” and “green”, based on the existing pandemic situation.

1. Red Category

According to the government of Hungary, countries such as Bosnia and Herzegovina, Belarus, Albania, Kosovo, North Macedonia, Montenegro and Ukraine, along with some Asian countries, belong to the “red” list category and considered to be “highly risked countries”. Accordingly, all the internationals from the “red” category who do not have a Hungary Permanent Resident may not enter the country.

2. Yellow Category

The EU (European Union) member states such as Russia, Serbia, Portugal, Romania, Bulgaria, Sweden, the United States, the United Kingdom, and China belong to the Yellow Category. If the nationals of any of these states want to travel to Hungary, they will need to go through about 14 days of obligatory quarantine. Citizens who test negative will be released from the quarantine.

3. Green Category

For now, only other European countries, as well as Croatia, are included in the green category. But the nationals from these states will also be examined upon their entry.

Rules for international travellers introduced by Hungary due to COVID-19

The nationals of Hungary from yellow and red category countries who do not have a negative coronavirus test must go through health inspections at the border.

The nationals coming from the yellow category must go through health inspections at the border; if the infection is confirmed, they will not be allowed to enter Hungary. 

From 15 July 2020,  non-Hungarian nationals coming from abroad (from countries that belong to the green category), will be allowed to enter Hungary without any enforced restrictions.

Gergely Gulyás, the Minister of the Hungary Prime Minister’s Office, said the more we are competent to protect our border regions and restrain the entry to the country, the more we can maintain the conditions for a free and safe life in Hungary.

Though,  the country did not open its borders for the Non-EU states, as the European Union Council suggested through an announced list of 14 countries considered as epidemiologically safe, besides Serbia. The Prime Minister of Hungary previously announced.

On 9 June, authorities in Hungary eliminated all the border control points at their part of internal Schengen borders.

Read our previous article about the Effects of COVID-19 on New Zealand Student Visa in 2020.


Comments are closed.