Travel Restrictions On 32 Countries By Austria


The Coronavirus pandemic has caused a significant impact on travellers. Every country has made some rigid travel restrictions so that they can control the spread of coronavirus. The government of Austria also made an important decision regarding the travel restriction on 32 countries to control the spread of the coronavirus in Austria.

The government of Austria decided to apply travel restrictions on 32 countries, where the COVID-19 cases are increasing. This decision is an attempt to prevent the further spread of the coronavirus in Austria.

The government of Austria declared the listed below countries high-risked and announced travel restrictions to the following 32 countries.

  • Albania
  • Bangladesh
  • Belarus
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Brazil
  • Bulgaria
  • Egypt
  • India
  • Indonesia
  • Iran
  • Kosovo
  • Mexico
  • Moldova
  • Nigeria
  • Pakistan
  • Peru
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Russia
  • North Macedonia
  • Senegal
  • Serbia
  • USA
  • Turkey
  • Ukraine
  • Philippines
  • the Chinese province of Hubei
  • Chile
  • Montenegro
  • Sweden
  • Ecuador
  • South Africa

All the seasonal workers, diplomats and medical professionals, will be free from the mentioned above decision. But they will be necessary to take a PCR test.

Austrian Ministry of Interior announced a decision to permit the entry of nationals of various states

At the beginning of this month, the Austrian Ministry of Interior announced a decision to permit the entry for nationals coming from the following 30 European countries in which most states are part of the European Union or the European Economic Area. These states are considered to be safer than others. So that the nationals of these states do not need to fulfil the health measures like testing or going through at least two weeks of compulsory quarantine, this ordinance will apply until the end of September 30, 2020. 

  • Andorra
  • Belgium
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Monaco
  • Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • San Marino
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Switzerland
  • Vatican

Since July 2, nationals of these states are eligible to enter Austria without the need to display the negative test results or going through the two weeks of quarantine. 

The authorities of Austria also raised entry restrictions for nationals of 32 European countries, entering the state for critical purposes. 

Moreover, the borders of Austria remain closed for nationals of the third-country (Non- EU states), who want to enter the country for non-essential purposes. The employees of international organizations, members of diplomatic missions, seasonal workers, humanitarian workers, nursing and health workers, people who work in freight transport and transit passengers are exempted from this decision. 

Read our previous article about Hungary has introduced new rules for international travellers due to COVID-19.


Comments are closed.