The government of Norway appealed to its citizens to prevent unnecessary travel to Germany, Liechtenstein, and Sweden’s part of Västerbotte because of the increase in the number of coronavirus cases in these regions. Regarding the outbreak of COVID-19 in different countries, Norway takes various essential decisions to control the spread of coronavirus in Norway, due to this reason, they advised its citizens to avoid travel to the multiple states.

Moreover, from August 29, citizens coming from any of these countries will need to go into a ten days quarantine. These countries and regions are also changed from ‘yellow’ to ‘red’ status for quarantine. 

The government of Norway also advised its citizens to avoid travel to the various states for unessential purposes due to the increase in the coronavirus cases in these countries. 

Here is the list of these countries.

  • Andorra
  • Austria
  • Bulgaria
  • Belgium
  • Croatia
  • Ireland
  • Cyprus
  • The Faroe Islands
  • Greece
  • France
  • Iceland

The Norwegians are also requested not to travel to Luxembourg, Portugal, Malta, Monaco, the Netherlands, Romania, Poland, Spain, the UK, Switzerland, and Denmark, unless for some crucial reason. Last week, Norway announced to reopen some of its Norwegian visa application centers in abroad after almost five months of being closed down. 

The reopening of the visa application centers in abroad is proclaimed by VFS Global, an outsourcing and technology services company. The Norwegian visa application centers located in the following regions have reopened and nowadays accept long-stay visa applications.

  • Accra, Ghana
  • Tehran, Iran
  • Tel Aviv, Israel
  • Tokyo, Japan
  • Amman, Jordan
  • Beirut, Lebanon
  • Abuja, Nigeria
  • Lagos, Nigeria
  • Ramallah, Palestinian Territories
  • Gaza, Palestinian Territories
  • Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
  • Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
  • Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
  • Dubai, UAE
  • Abu Dhabi, UAE
  • Hanoi, Vietnam
  • Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
  • Cape Town, South Africa
  • Durban, South Africa
  • Pretoria, South Africa
  • Abidjan, Ivory Coast
  • Chennai, India
  • Chicago, USA
  • Edinburgh, UK
  • Hanoi, Vietnam
  • Hyderabad, India
  • Jakarta, Indonesia
  • Kaliningrad, Russia
  • Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
  • London, UK
  • Minsk, Belarus
  • Moscow, Russia
  • Murmansk, Russia
  • New Delhi, India
  • New York, USA
  • Pristina, Kosovo
  • Washington DC, USA
  • Yaoundé, Cameroon

On the other hand, the Norwegian Embassy in Ankara has recommenced for residence permits applications to Norway from Turkey, Ukraine, Kosovo and Serbia. But the embassy does not process short-term visa applications. Presently, the citizens of the third-country can travel to Norway only for essential purposes.

Prime Minister Erna Solberg stated that even if the coronavirus infected cases have shown a decrease, we can not say that we have safely landed yet. We need to ensure that we keep control. At this point, Norway recorded a total of 10,542 coronavirus cases, although 264 persons have died.

Read Our Previous Article About China Announced To Reopen Visa Services For 36 European Countries